Skip to content Skip to footer


The 2021 H-E-B Excellence in Education Award Winners Are:


Winners received a $5,000 cash prize.

Maribel Garcia, Valley View 5th Grade Campus, Pharr

Tyree BoClair, Tennyson Middle School, Waco

Erika Garner, Dime Box ISD, Dime Box

Acelia Lozano, Fasken Elementary, Midland

Victoria Escalante, Ella Barnes Elementary, Corpus Christi

Brian Hopkins, Hughes Road Elementary, Dickinson


Winning principals received a $10,000 cash prize.

Wendy McMullen, Navarro Intermediate, Seguin

Shannon Wilhite, Lone Oak Middle School, Lone Oak

Lisa Walls, Chapa Middle School, Kyle

Karla Klyng, Alvin Elementary, Alvin

School District

The winning school district received a $20,000 cash prize.

Northside ISD, San Antonio

Early Childhood Center

The winning early childhood facility received a $10,000 cash prize.

Meredith Dunbar Early Childhood Academy, Temple

All winners were announced on Saturday, May 8th during the H-E-B Excellence in Education Presents a Tribute to Texas Teachers, hosted by H-E-B Group VP of Public Affairs, Diversity & Environmental Affairs Winell Herron, and H-E-B Chief Merchant Scott Mitchell. The live cast is available on our Facebook page.

2022 Excellence in Education Award Nominations & Applications

Nominations and Applications for the 2022 Excellence in Education Awards are now open. Nominate your favorite educator, school district, school board, and early childhood facility now through October 18, 2021. Educators: Applications are being accepted through midnight, December 8, 2021.

Connect on social

H‑E‑B, LP © 2022. All Rights Reserved.